Out with the old (HD) and on with the new (3D)? And Reflections

So it appears that my excitement over the 3D Avatar flick wasn’t out of line.  The 3D experience might just be the wave of the future.

Today ESPN announced its plans to unveil the industry’s first 3-D network and will begin to show sporting events in 3D, starting with the opening match of the 2010 World Cup on June 11th (full article).

It also looks as if most of the major TV companies are planning to bring 3D TV’s into the home (full article).  While this may seem gimmicky, as neat as Avatar was, I’m betting this will be the future of the TV experience.

What does this have to do with God?

On the one hand, I guess it shows that we like to create like he does and that he has given us extraordinary brains that enable us to produce incredible things.

On the other hand, part of me feels guilty for paying attention and being excited about such things.  I think it’s because I know in my heart that it reveals a little bit of my misplaced loyalty and love for the things of the world.  Do you struggle with this balance as well?

3 Responses to Out with the old (HD) and on with the new (3D)? And Reflections

  1. GB says:

    Perhaps the New heaven and the New Earth promised to believers will be in 3 D

  2. MAS says:

    It is easy to be caught up im materialism when you are bombarded daily with items via clever marketing. It is also sad that what is valued most in the news is hollywood and pop start, but then it was also like that in the days of Plato – we haven’t come a long way baby!

Leave a comment